24 Best Abandoned Places In New Hampshire To Explore

Table of Contents

New Hampshire is a state that is rich in history, and there are many abandoned places scattered throughout the region that offer an opportunity to explore the past. From ghost towns to abandoned factories, ski jumps, military structures, and mills, New Hampshire is a treasure trove of abandoned places waiting to be discovered. Exploring these places can be an exciting and eerie experience, as you step back in time and get a glimpse into what life was like in a bygone era. In this article, we will take a look at some of the best abandoned places in New Hampshire that are worth exploring for those who are adventurous and curious.

1. Battery Seaman

Photos by user: @tom
Photos by user: @tom

Location Address: 570 Ocean Blvd, Rye, NH 03870
Location Directions: HERE

Portsmouth Harbor in New Hampshire was an important location to protect during World War II due to its strategic position as a major shipbuilding and repair center for the US Navy. The Portsmouth Naval Shipyard was one of the largest shipyards in the country at the time and played a crucial role in building and repairing ships for the war effort. The harbor was also a major transportation hub for goods and supplies being sent to Europe to support the Allied forces. In addition, the harbor was home to a submarine base, where US submarines were serviced and refueled before being deployed on missions. Given its importance, construction on Battery Seaman began in 1942 and it was put into service in 1944.

Battery Seaman was equipped with two 16-inch MarkII-M1 guns mounted on M5 Casemated Barbette Carriage, which were some of the largest and most powerful guns at the time. Additionally, the battery was home to a magazine, plotting rooms, storage, and a fire control station. Following World War 2, the guns and mounts at Battery Seaman were removed and it was abandoned. Today, the structure can be found in  Odiorne Point State Park in Rye, New Hampshire. Visitors are welcome to walk around and within the old abandoned structure today.

Learn more about the abandoned Battery Seaman

2. Madame Sherri House

Photo by user: @scott_moore_creative

Location Address: Gulf Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Location Directions: HERE

The Madame Sherri’s Castle Ruins in West Chesterfield, New Hampshire has become one of the most iconic photography locations in the state. If you’ve spent any time on Instagram and live in New England, it is likely that you have seen a picture of the crumbling stone stairway of the castle which nowadays leads nowhere.

How the castle came to be is a fascinating story. The tale dates back to the late 1920s when Madame Antionette Sherri began acquiring land in the town of Chesterfield. Sheri was a top theatrical costume designer in New York City. After spending many years in the city, Sherri sought to build a summer home so that she and her husband could escape New York during the summer. For several years in the 1920s, Sherri and her husband went about acquiring land in New Hampshire for their summer home. They fell in love with land in Chestfield and acquired hundreds of acres. When it came to building the home in New Hampshire, no expenses were spared. After many months of construction, the home was completed. It was a French-inspired chateau with exquisite stonework throughout. Over the years, many lavish parties were held at the castle.

In the middle of the century, Madame Sherri experienced financial difficulties. She started to spend less time at the castle in Chesterfield as a result. Due to a lack of maintenance, the house started to deteriorate. In addition, vandals started picking on the derelict building. After being away for a while, Sherri did go back to the house in 1959, but when she saw the damage, she left and never came back. She was devastated that the house, which had previously been a hub of activity for so many, was now beyond repair. In the end, the castle burned down in 1963, leaving only a few stone structures standing.

Learn more about the Madame Sherri House Ruins

3. Livermore Falls Mill

Photos by user: @tom
Photos by user: @tom

Location Address: US-3, Campton, NH 03223
Location Directions: HERE

The Livermore Falls Mill is a stunning historic and abandoned structure located in Campton, New Hampshire within the Livermore Falls State Forest. The pulp mill was established in 1901 by lumber baron J. E. Henry. In 1901, the most major development occurred on the west bank of the Pemigewasset River. Henry built this big pulp mill just upstream from a former Fibrewood mill. Henry’s mill quickly became the most significant business in the area. In 1917, Henry sold his mill to the Parker Young Company after clear-cutting much of the area’s timber. The mill went through several owners before closing unexpectedly in 1953. The mill’s dam remained intact until a flood in 1973 demolished it. The remains of the pulp mill sit along the river today.

Years of unchecked deforestation in the Livermore Falls region caught the State of New Hampshire’s attention. For the Livermore Falls State Forest, the state purchased the abandoned mill and 178 acres of land. There is a designated parking space for the park, and during the summer, parking costs $5 per car. Then, you can get to the mill, but proceed with caution. Near the mill, which is continuously being taken back by nature, there is very little protection.

Learn more about the abandoned Livermore Falls Mill

4. Battery Edward Kirk

Photos by user: @tom
Photos by user: @tom

Location Address: 211 Wild Rose Ln, New Castle, NH 03854
Location Directions: HERE

Battery Edward Kirk is an abandoned coastal gun battery located at the Fort Stark Historic Site in New Castle, New Hampshire. This gun battery was put into service in 1904 during the Endicott Period of Coastal Fortifications. When established, it was equipped with two 6-inch M1903 guns mounted on M1903 Disappearing carriages. During World War 1, Battery Kirk’s 6-inch guns received a dismount order for duty abroad. On September 28, 1917, they were transported to the Watervliet Arsenal in New York for conversion to mobile mounts. In 1918, both guns arrived in France, and they were sent back to America in 1919. After returning to the United States, they were not remounted at Battery Kirk. It was then decommissioned and abandoned.

Following the decommissioning of Battery Edward Kirk during World War 1, it was unlikely it would ever be used again. But, when World War 2 began, the military thought of a way to use the then-abandoned structure. Due to its unique position, the structure was seen as a great vantage point for a control post. Starting in 1943, the military began constructing a combined harbor Entrance Control Post and a Harbor Defense Command Post. These were built inside the decommissioned batteries magazine and also above it. Three floors were built above the magazine to create the observation station and a radar was placed on top this new structure. To avoid being spotted by enemies, the military disguised the structure as a modernistic building with camouflaged paint. It seemed to look like a ship and not a lookout post. The Coast Artillery accepted the structure and put it into service on January 10, 1944. After World War 2, the battery was once again abandoned and this time for good. Today, visitors are welcome to admire the old abandoned military structure as it is park of the public Fort Stark Historic Site.

Learn more about the abandoned Battery Edward Kirk

5. Portsmouth Naval Prison

Old Portsmouth Naval Prison” by chipgriffin is licensed under CC BY 2.0.

Location Address (For parking): Portsmouth Ave, New Castle, NH 03854
Location Directions (For parking): HERE

If you have ever been driving around New Castle, New Hampshire, you have surely seen the Portsmouth Naval Prison. This massive abandoned building is architecturally stunning and it can be found on the island where the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard is located. The building was constructed on the former grounds of Camp Long between 1905 and 1908 by the military. Architects modeled the prison after Alcatraz considering it was set on an island and would use tidal currents to deter escape. In 1918, the prison reached its maximum capacity of 2,295. From 1942-1943, new wings were added to both sides of the prison to expand the occupancy capacity to 3,088. The prion remained active through World War 1, World War 2, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War.

After holding over 85,000 military inmates over its 66 years of usage, the prison closed down in 1974. Some military exercises were held inside the prison throughout the 1980s, but after those, the building was abandoned. The prison is often referred to as the “Alcatraz of the East” along with “the Fortress” and it can be viewed from Portsmouth Avenue in New Castle today. No visitors are allowed to visit the prison considering the island is still an active Naval Shipyard and official credentials are required to enter.

Learn more about the historic Portsmouth Naval Prison

6. Franconia Iron Furnace

Stone Iron Furnace” by jimmywayne is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0.

Location Address: Main St, Franconia, NH 03580
Location Directions: HERE

The Franconia Iron Furnace is a historic landmark located in Franconia, New Hampshire. Built in the early 19th century, the furnace was used to produce iron for the local mining industry and was a key part of the region’s economy for many years. Local granite was used to build the furnace. Firebrick is set in a cylindrical pattern inside the structure. Clay is used to fill the void between the exterior’s stone and firebrick construction. In order to generate charcoal for the furnace, farmers burned trees. By 1865, there were fewer trees and ore deposits, and Pennsylvania’s iron production was becoming more efficient. The iron was still molten in the furnace’s belly when it was abandoned. When the shed that surrounded the furnace caught fire in 1884, it had been idle for twenty years.

Today, the Franconia Iron Furnace is a popular tourist attraction, and visitors can explore the site and learn about the history of iron production in the area. The furnace’s massive stone walls and towering chimney provide a glimpse into the past and serve as a reminder of the region’s rich industrial heritage. The site also includes interpretive panels and exhibits that provide historical context and information about the iron-making process.

Learn more about the old Franconia Iron Furnace

7. Yankee Siege Amusement Park

20140608-DSC_0099.jpg” by MulderMedia is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Location Address: 171 Forest Rd, Greenfield, NH 03047
Location Directions: HERE

The Yankee Siege is an abandoned Amusement Park located in Greenfield, New Hampshire. The amusement park was established in 2004 after a local farmer named Steven Seigar was inspired by a PBS documentary on medieval weaponry. The documentary was produced by NOVA and it highlighted the usage of 12th-century war devices called trebuchets. Seigar went about constructing a whole medieval village compound complete with a mini castle, stone tower, mace, and, of course, a trebuchet. He believed that this amusement park could help bring more traffic to his nearby farmstand.

The trebuchet Seigar constructed was no basic device. He set out to build the greatest trebuchet in the world. It stood 6 stories tall and specialized in throwing pumpkins thousands of feet. Seigar entered some pumpkin throwing competitions and his trebuchet set the world record for the longest throw at 2,835 feet. Although the trebuchet was a massive success, the park did not receive the necessary traffic to be successful. Seigar closed down the park in the early 2010s. Today, the park sits abandoned and many of the original structures remain. It can be found right along New Boston Road in Greenfield with the trebuchet in view from the road.

8. Nansen Ski Jump

File:MilanNH NansenSkiJump.jpg” by User:Magicpiano is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0.

Location Address: 83 Milan Rd, Milan, NH 03588
Location Directions: HERE

Built in 1936, the Nansen Ski Jump was named after Fridtjof Nansen, a Norwegian explorer, scientist, and diplomat. He was famous for crossing Greenland on cross-country skis in 1888 and receiving the Nobel Prize in 1922. The jump was a marvel of engineering, standing 171 feet tall and boasting a pitch of 37 degrees. At the time of its construction, it was the largest and most impressive ski jump in the world. The Nansen Ski Jump quickly became a hub of activity, attracting thousands of visitors to Milan, New Hampshire each year. In 1938, the first Olympic trials for the US were held at the jump.

The Nansen Ski Jump’s popularity began to wane in the post-World War II era. The introduction of new materials and technologies in ski jumping led to the construction of larger and more modern jumps in other parts of the world, and the Nansen Ski Jump eventually fell into disuse. It was officially closed in 1988 and has since been left to deteriorate.

Despite its current state of neglect, the Nansen Ski Jump remains a beloved landmark in Milan and a symbol of the town’s rich skiing heritage. Efforts have been made in recent years to preserve the jump and turn it into a tourist attraction, with some success. A group of local volunteers has formed the Nansen Ski Jump Restoration Committee, which has raised funds to repair and stabilize the jump’s deteriorating infrastructure.

9. Battery Alexander Hays

Photo by user: @tom

Location Address: 211 Wild Rose Ln, New Castle, NH 03854
Location Directions: HERE

Battery Alexander Hays is another coastal gun battery located on Fort Stark in New Castle, New Hampshire. This battery was constructed during the Endicott Period of Coastal Fortifications to help strengthen the Harbor Defenses of Portsmouth. When it went into service in 1904, it was equipped with two 3-inch M1902MI guns mounted on M1902 Pedestal mounts. It remains active through World War 1, but during World War 2 its guns and mounts were removed. They were sent to a fort in New York and following this action, the battery was decommissioned and abandoned.

For decades, this old military structure has sat vacant on the southeastern tip of New Castle Island. When the Fort Stark Historic Site was established, visitors were now welcome to explore the old battery along with the other abandoned structures at Fort Stark. It is a fascinating piece of New Hampshire military history and well worth checking out. Visitors are welcome to walk all around BatterY Alexander Hays and even inside it when the doors are open.

Learn more about Battery Alexander Hays

10. Mill City Park

Location Address: 6 Willow St, Franklin, NH 03235
Location Directions: HERE

Mill City Park in Franklin, New Hampshire is a large public park that was established on land that used to be home to three paper mills. These large paper mills were abandoned years ago and fell into disrepair. Today, the mills are no longer standing, but there are some fascinating abandoned relics of their existence. Their foundations remain and can be found in the middle of the woods. Additionally, a few of the original tools used at the mills remain. There are also old railroad tracks that were once used to transport products to and from the mills. These now are overgrown. Lastly, there is an old trestle known as the Franklin Trestle Bridge and also the Sulphite Bridge which is believed to be the only “upside-down” trestle bridge in the country. Making paper requires sulfur as an essential ingredient and that is how the bridge got its name. Ultimately, this is a wonderful park for walking around and exploring structures built many decades ago when the region was a hub for manufacturing.

11. Laconia State School

Location Address: Right Way Path, Laconia, NH 03246
Location Directions: HERE

The Laconia State School, located in Laconia, New Hampshire, was a state-run institution for people with developmental disabilities that operated from 1903 until its closure in 1991. The facility was initially designed to provide education and vocational training to children with intellectual disabilities, but over time it became overcrowded and understaffed, leading to allegations of neglect and abuse. In the 1970s, a series of lawsuits and investigations brought attention to the deplorable living conditions and mistreatment of residents at the facility. As a result, efforts were made to improve conditions, but the school remained controversial and was ultimately closed in 1991.

Following its closure, the state brainstormed other uses for the complex. They decided to make a few improvements and altercations to turn the former state school property into a state prison. The Lakes Region Facility was established and it housed a few hundred criminals. Inmates lived in the former state school dormitories and they were in pretty rough shape. The programming at the prison focused on substance abuse, self-improvement, and several other topics. One of the programs was called “Shock incarceration” and it was comparable to boot camp. First-time offenders of some offenses may receive 6 months in prison instead of the usual sentence. Sadly, a few prisoners passed away throughout the years as a result of the rigorous exercise schedule in bad weather. In 2009, the prison was closed due to it being inefficient and the property was then abandoned.

12. Redstone Granite Quarry

IMG_9060” by duckophile is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Location Address: Hemlock Ln, North Conway, NH 03860
Location Directions: HERE

The Redstone Granite Quarry is one of the coolest abandoned quarries in New England. It is located in the iconic town of North Conway which is a wonderful 4-season town. The quarry was founded in the late 1800s and opened in the village of Redstone. The village of Redstone was basically built around the quarry. Maine and New Hampshire Granite Company established the quarry at the base of Rattlesnake Mountain. To run the quarry they hired employees and built them housing. Over the years, a church, boarding house, post office, railroad station, school, and many other buildings were established to support the quarry operations. At its height, the quarry employed over 300 men.

The quarry remained operational from 1884 to 1948. After closing down, the land was sold to the state and eventually turned into a public park. Today, the abandoned quarry property is a popular place to explore for locals, hikers, historians, and tourists. Fortunately, there are a lot of cool abandoned things to see at this location. There are decrepit structures, quarry equipment, pills of granite slabs, and still-standing wooden derricks.

Learn more about urbex at the Redstone Granite Quarry

13. Battery Farnsworth

Location Address: Sullivan Ln, New Castle, NH 03854
Location Directions: HERE

Battery Farnsworth on Fort Constitution in New Castle, New Hampshire is an abandoned Endicott Period coastal gun battery. This was one of the first coastal gun batteries built during the Endicott Period when the US sought to boost its coastal defenses. Construction on Battery Farnsworth began in 1897 and it was finished in 1899. When it went into operation, the battery was equipped with two 8-inch M1888MII guns mounted on M1894 Disappearing carriages. There were two stories at this gun battery with the guns mounted on the upper level and the magazines located on the lower level.

During World War 1, many coastal gun batteries in the United States had their guns removed and shipped overseas to aid allies. The guns at Battery Farnsworth were dismounted on August 24, 1917. They were then shipped to NYC but never made it overseas. Although the battery was not rearmed, an additional structure was added during World War 2. During World War 2, the military started using mines to protect Portsmouth Harbor. A mine observation station was constructed on Battery Farnsworth to provide lookouts with sweeping views of the ocean and any potential enemies. After World War 2, Battery Farnsworth was officially decommissioned and abandoned. Today, it can be seen at the Fort Constitution State Historical Site on New Castle Island and it is just a few yards away from Portsmouth Harbor Lighthouse.

Learn more about Battery Farnsworth

14. Thornton Gore Ghost Town

Location Address: Tripoli Rd, Thornton, NH 03285
Location Directions: HERE

Thornton Gore developed out of farming, in contrast to other White Mountain ghost towns, most of which were centered around the forestry sector. It took nearly 20 years, until 1781, for Thornton Gore to incorporate; the town took its name from Matthew Thornton, a resident of Londonderry, New Hampshire, and a signer of the Declaration of Independence.

When one of the town’s initial residents, who by this point had owned much of the land, started selling lots ranging in size from 80 to 200 acres, Thornton Gore entered its first “growth” stage. Early farming attempts were hampered by the area’s extensive forest, but locals benefited from it greatly because it provided maple syrup, firewood, and lumber for construction. Midway through the 1800s, the neighborhood kept growing, gaining a church, a school, a few mills, two cemeteries, and roads to connect them all. In addition to producing maple syrup, the community also produced other goods including potatoes, wool, and butter by 1850, when 1,100 acres of land had been cleared for farms, orchards, and pasture.

Due to many factors—including the Civil War, its slower economic growth than that of larger communities, and the forest’s encroachment on abandoned farms—Thornton Gore was ultimately abandoned. The New Hampshire Land Company, in particular, purchased a significant amount of the land in Thornton Gore; by 1900, it held all but two lots in the town. Although logging continued into 1912, with timber companies taking millions of board feet from the nearby slopes, this effectively put an end to the town’s existence. After being cleared of trees, the site was sold to the government and added to the White Mountain National Forest.

Today, the abandoned ghost town is easily accessible from I-93. Tripoli Road may be found after taking Exit 31. Parking along Tripoli allows visitors to walk to the former Thornton Gore Mill Ruins.

Learn more about the fascinating Thornton Gore Ghost Town

15. Barefoot Boy of Baker Brook Restaurant

Location Address: Main St, Bethlehem, NH 03574
Location Directions: HERE

Barefoot Boy of Baker Brook was once a thriving restaurant and day club loved by locals and visitors of Bethlehem, New Hampshire. The restaurant was established during the 1960s and it was situated on Baker Lake between Littleton and Bethlehem. It was famous for fine New England food and it offered breakfast, lunch, and dinner. From the dining room, patrons could enjoy sweeping views of the lake. Additionally, there was a community pool located right by the shores of the lake. There were boats for use too. Decades later, the restaurant closed and has been abandoned for years.

16. Pulpit Rock Tower

Photo by user: @tom

Location Address: 9 Davis Rd, Rye, NH 03870
Location Directions: HERE

Pulpit Rock Tower is a historic landmark located in Rye, New Hampshire, that offers visitors a unique opportunity to step back in time and explore the region’s rich history. The tower was built in 1943 as part of the Harbor Defenses of Portsmouth during World War II. Its strategic location on Pulpit Rock, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the entrance to Portsmouth Harbor, made it an important asset for protecting the nearby naval shipyard and other key locations. It was connected to nearby Fort Dearborn using a telephone. Lookouts stationed at the tower could relay observational measurements to the gunman at Fort Dearborn who were in control of Battery Seaman.

Since its decommissioning in 1945 after World War 2 ended, the tower has undergone several restorations and renovations, with the most recent being in 2017. Today, it is open to the public and operated by the Friends of Pulpit Rock Tower, a local nonprofit organization dedicated to preserving the tower and its history. The tower is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is very unique considering it is the only one of New Hampshire’s original 14 World War II watchtowers to survive and remain in mint condition.

Learn more about the historic Pulpit Rock Tower

17. Concord Quarries (State Prison Quarries)

quarry” by Ben McLeod is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Location Address: 288 North State St, Concord, NH 03301
Location Directions: HERE

The Concord Quarries in Concord, New Hampshire are fascinating historic and abandoned places. The quarries were established by the Swenson family in the late 1800s when they began mining Rattlesnake Hill. Since 1883, Swenson Granite Works has been producing world-class granite and building amazing residential and commercial structures. The granite produced by Swenson has been used in iconic projects such as the Library of Congress, the Pentagon, and the Brooklyn Bridge. Eventually, the quarry operations at these original quarries, but the company continues producing stone just down the road.

After closing operations at the original Concord Quarries, the quarries, and surrounding land was sold to the state and the city. The quarries can be found behind the New Hampshire State Prison for Men and there is a dedicated parking area for visitors to the quarries. The land is popular among hikers and bikers too with its miles of trails. There are three popular quarries that locals flock to often during the summer for swimming. Swimming at the quarries is extremely dangerous though. Ultimately, these are fascinating abandoned places to see!

18. Battery William Lytle

Location Address: 211 Wild Rose Ln, New Castle, NH 03854
Location Directions: HERE

Battery William Lytle is an abandoned reinforced concrete coastal gun battery in the present-day Fort Stark Historic Site in New Castle, New Hampshire. It was built during the Endicott Period and was originally equipped with two 3-inch M1902MI guns mounted on M1902 Pedestal mounts. During World War I, many coastal gun batteries in the United States were disarmed and their guns were sent overseas to aid the country’s allies. Battery William Lytle was not affected during World War 1, or World War 2 for that matter. In 1945, Battery William Lytle was deemed surplus. The guns and mounts were removed following World War 2 and then it was abandoned.

Learn more about the historic Battery William Lytle

19. Budget Inn

Photo by: Google Maps

Location Address: 25 Pleasant St, Berlin, NH 03570
Location Directions: HERE

The Budget Inn is an abandoned hotel in Berlin, New Hampshire. The 26-room motel was a very economical lodging option for visitors to Berlin for many years. In the mid-2000s, the hotel’s demand dropped and it was closed down. The hotel has been abandoned now for over 15 years. Its exterior is in pretty good condition, but the interior is pretty rough. It is unknown what the future of the Budget Inn will be. Many locals hope that someone will help develop the inn into a new hotel and bring life to the vacant building.

20. Sulphite Railroad Bridge

Location Address: Central St, Franklin, NH 03235
Location Directions: HERE

The Sulphite Railroad Bridge, usually referred to as the Sulphite Bridge, is a historic structure located in Franklin, New Hampshire, that has become a beloved landmark and a symbol of the city’s rich industrial heritage. The bridge was built in 1896 and was originally used to transport trains carrying pulpwood and other materials to the paper mills in Franklin which included one operated by the International Paper Company. Due to the substantial amounts of sulfur that were transported across the rail lines to be used by the enormous pulp and paper factories close to the bridge, the area was given the moniker Sulphite.

The Boston and Maine Railroad’s Bridge and Building Department constructed this remarkable bridge in 1896, and it looks to be the only one of its kind still standing in the country. The railroad track spans over the covered bridge’s top rather than passing through its middle, earning it the nickname “Upside Down Covered Bridge.” In 1973, service over the line was discontinued. The ends of the bridge are now closed, and the sides are boarded with 7/8″ paneling. On October 27, 1980, there was a fire that was thought to have been intentionally started inside the bridge. The price of replacement was estimated to reach $500,000. Fortunately, the bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on June 11, 1975.

21. Cheshire Railroad Stone Arch Bridge

Location Address: Marlboro St, Keene, NH 03431
Location Directions: HERE

The Cheshire Railroad Stone Arch Bridge is an iconic structure located in Keene, New Hampshire, that offers a glimpse into the region’s rich transportation history. The bridge was built in 1847 and is a testament to the ingenuity and craftsmanship of the era’s engineers and builders. Lucian Tilton was the head architect of the bridge and he had a lot of assistance from William Scollay who was another well-respected bridge designer. The bridge spans the Branch River and was a key element of the Cheshire Railroad’s route between Fitchburg, Massachusetts, and Bellows Falls, Vermont.

The Cheshire Railroad Stone Arch Bridge was one of the largest arch bridges in the state and it served as an important transportation link for over 100 years. However, with the decline of the rail industry in the mid-20th century, the bridge fell into disrepair and was in danger of being dismantled. The railroad was abandoned in 1972. Thankfully, in the 1990s, the New Hampshire Department of Transportation purchased 40 miles of the railroad and the bridge. It would then be converted into a rail trail for walkers, bikers, and runners. Today, it is a popular place for locals and visitors of Keene, New Hampshire.

Learn more about the historic Cheshire Railroad Stone Arch Bridge

22. Manchester B&M Switch Tower

Location Address: 260 Elm St, Manchester, NH 03101
Location Directions: HERE

The Manchester B&M Switch Tower, also known as the MA Tower is a historic abandoned building in Manchester, New Hampshire. This one-story brick structure was built in 1944 to replace two traditional wood towers. It stood alongside the Manchester and Lawrence Branch (M&L) and operated 24/7. The train directors stationed at the tower regulate the railroad using a “Manchester-Type” control machine, the first of its type, which was fabricated and installed by Union Switch and Signal Company.

MA Tower was responsible for the double-track New Hampshire main line from a point that began just south of West Mitchell Street crossing, went through the Manchester yards, and then up to a point north of the city. Additionally, it controlled all switches and signals to and from the three branches which terminated in Manchester, New Hampshire. These included the Manchester and Lawrence Branch, the Portsmouth Branch, and the Goffstown Branch. Eventually, the signal control machine from the MA Tower was transferred to North Billerica, Massachusetts. Then the tower was closed down and abandoned in 1974. It is privately owned by the Boston and Maine Corporation and stores some random equipment.

23. Battery David Hunter

Location Address: 211 Wild Rose Ln, New Castle, NH 03854
Location Directions: HERE

Battery David Hunter is yet another abandoned Endicott Period coastal gun battery located at the Fort Stark Historic Site in New Castle, New Hampshire. This coastal gun battery was constructed in 1904 to help secure Portsmouth Harbor. In order to do this, it was equipped with two 12-inch M1895MI guns mounted on M1897 Disappearing carriages. These guns were very large and had the capability to fire 1,000+ pound projectiles 10-15 miles.

Battery David Hunter remained operational during World War 1 and for most of World War 2. It was in 1945, that the battery was declared surplus by the military. In February of 1945, its guns were removed and shipped to the Watervliet Arsenal in New York. The gun carriages were removed shortly after. For decades now, the battery has sat abandoned. It is a fascinating location to explore today. Visitors can walk inside the old magazines where the guns and powder were once stored. Additionally, the old emplacements where the ones were once mounted can be clearly seen. Fortunately, this battery often has all of its doors open.

Learn more about the decaying Battery David Hunter

24. Come n’ Go Express Mart

Photo by: Google Maps

Location Address: 68 Concord Rd, Lee, NH 03861
Location Directions: HERE

Exploring an abandoned gas station and convenience store can be a unique and intriguing experience. The Come n’ Go Express Mart can be found right along Concord Road in Lee, New Hampshire. As you look in the windows, you will see empty aisles and outdated merchandise along with plenty of dusty equipment. You can’t help but wonder about the people who once frequented the establishment. The peeling paint, broken pumps, and rusted signage all add to the eerie atmosphere. You might try to imagine what the store looked like during its heyday and what caused it to eventually shut down. As you explore further, you may come across interesting artifacts, such as old license plates. While exploring abandoned gas stations can be fascinating, it is important to remember that they can be dangerous, with hazards such as unstable structures and toxic chemicals. It is always recommended to take appropriate precautions and seek permission before entering any abandoned buildings. This is located on private property!

Conclusion

In conclusion, New Hampshire is home to a variety of abandoned places that offer a unique and fascinating glimpse into the state’s history. From abandoned mills and factories to ghost towns and historic buildings, there is no shortage of places to explore for those who enjoy urban exploration and adventure. While exploring abandoned places can be an exciting and unforgettable experience, it’s important to remember to approach these sites with caution and respect, as they can be dangerous and unstable. Always prioritize safety and follow any rules or regulations in place to preserve these historic sites for future generations. Whether you’re a seasoned urban explorer or just looking for a new adventure, the 24 best abandoned places in New Hampshire are waiting to be discovered.

Picture of Tom Riley

Tom Riley

Hi! I'm Tom. I am the creator of GoXplr. I started this website with a focus on helping people explore better and explore more. I am based in New England and obsessed with traveling. Here at GoXplr, you will find expert blog posts and also maps containing all of the best places to explore. These blogs and maps have taken thousands of hours to complete. I hope you enjoy this resource and it inspires you to get out and explore!

Support GoXplr

GoXplr is an expensive website to keep running. This is not a typical blog. We have a popular blog along with many popular maps. There is nowhere else online where you can find maps of every covered bridge, lighthouse, waterfalls, etc. in New England. Fees are high for website hosting, email marketing, mapping software, and additional plugins to keep things running. Please consider joining our Premium Substack. Thank you so much!

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *