18 Best Abandoned Places In Massachusetts To Explore

Best abandoned locations and places in Massachusetts

Looking for the best abandoned spots in Massachusetts? We got you! This blog post is a compilation of the coolest (and creepiest) abandoned spots and structures in The Bay State. Some are open to the public and others are very off-limits. Be sure to do extra research before visiting any of these spots to determine whether or not you can explore them. As always be safe, leave just footsteps, and have fun! Also, let us know in the comments your favorite abandoned places in Massachusetts!

Exploring abandoned locations in Massachusetts is an exciting and thrilling experience. From old factories to ghost towns, the thrill of walking through the ruins of long ago is something that is hard to put into words. From eerie abandoned asylums to long-forgotten and crumbling war structures, these forgotten relics of the past are full of mystery and adventure. Exploring these forgotten places can give you an insight into the history of the area and a glimpse into the past. The thrill of discovering something that has been lost to time can be an exciting and rewarding experience.


Assabet River National Wildlife Refuge WW2 Bunkers


Address: 680 Hudson Road
Town: Sudbury
Location directions: HERE (Bunker 303)

The Assabet River National Wildlife Refuge WW2 Bunkers are hidden abandoned structures located in Sudbury, Massachusetts. When the Fort Devens Sudbury Training Annex Superfund site was established in 1942, the bunkers were constructed. The U.S. Army military post during WW2 was about four square miles large and included parts of the Massachusetts towns of Maynard, Stow, Hudson, and Sudbury. The location was used as a laboratory disposal site, an ordnance testing station, a troop training and research facility, and an ammo store. Bunker 303, Bunker 309, and several others were used to store live ammunition… READ MORE


Atlantic Union College

Atlantic Union College in Lancaster, Massachusetts - GoXplr


Address: 338 Main Street
Town: Lancaster
Location directions: HERE

Atlantic Union College (AUC) was established in 1882 as a Seventh-day Adventist institution. In the 1990s, the college started to face financial difficulties. With 82% of enrolled students getting financial help in 1993, there was a high student loan default rate and enrollment was falling far short of expectations. The college was “basically bankrupt,” according to an auditor’s assessment, and owed at least $3 million at the time. The college struggled year after year, and the debt increased. The college was placed on probationary status by the New England Association of Schools and Colleges in 2008 as a result of “failure to meet [its] Standard on Financial Resources.” The loss of Atlantic Union College’s accreditation on July 31, 2011, was announced in February 2011… READ MORE


Bancroft’s Castle


Address: Lowell Road
Town: Groton
Location directions: HERE

After a long career as a soldier, politician, and businessman, General William Bancroft started construction on his opulent retirement residence on Groton, Massachusetts’ picturesque Gibbet Hill, in 1906. Shawfieldmont was even the name he had in mind for his future mansion. Sadly, Bancroft ran out of money just after the tower and cottage were completed. Bancroft sold his castle to Dr. Harold Ayers, who turned it into a sanatorium. Through the 1920s, the Groton Private Hospital, as Ayers called his institution, provided treatments and fresh air to locals with illnesses like tuberculosis… READ MORE


Clinton Train Tunnel


Address: Boylston Street
Town: Clinton
Location directions: HERE

The Clinton Train Tunnel has become one of the most iconic abandoned places in Massachusetts over the years.

The need for the Clinton Train Tunnel became apparent in 1897 when the Wachusett Reservoir construction began. The completed reservoir would cut off a section of the Central Massachusetts Railroad which was chartered in 1869. Instead of re-routing the tracks, a 1,100-foot-long tunnel was constructed along with a 917-foot-long viaduct to navigate the new reservoir. The western entrance to the tunnel has 228 feet lined with concrete and the rest of the tunnel is bare rock. The tunnel, viaduct, and new track were officially opened in June 1903… READ MORE


Fort Revere


Address: Farina Road
Town: Hull
Location directions: HERE

Fort Revere is an amazing abandoned fort in Hull, Massachusetts. It is situated on at the top of Telegraph Hill in Hull Village and contains the remains of two seacoast fortifications, one from the American Revolution and one that served 1898–1947. The fort is completely open for visitors to walk through. It is amazing exploring the old hallways and rooms in Fort Reverse. Some visitors get scared of the eerie silence and extreme darkness that can be experienced in some areas. While walking, visitors can see the remains of beds, fireplaces, gun openings, and more… READ MORE


Gooseberry Island Towers


Address: Gooseberry Island Causeway
Town: Westport
Location directions: HERE

The Gooseberry Island Towers are two abandoned WW2 fire control towers that sit looking over Buzzards Bay in Westport, Massachusetts.

Gooseberry Island was first explored in 1602 Bartholomew Gosnold and during the early 1900s people began developing homes, beach cottages, and fishing shacks on the island. In 1942, the US government took control of 6.5 acres on the island to create fire control towers to aid nearby guns in New Bedford Harbor and Narragansett Bay during WW2. The guns were never used and the Gooseberry Island Towers were abandoned after the war… READ MORE


Grafton State Hospital


Address: Pine Street
Town: Grafton
Location directions: HERE

The Grafton State Hospital is a super creepy abandoned mental hospital complex in Grafton, Massachusetts. The Grafton State Hospital was founded in 1901 as a farm colony for “chronic insane patients” of the Worcester State Hospital. Administrative separation from Worcester took place in 1912.

The Grafton site was created to expand the Worcester hospital’s capacity as well as to give patients access to therapeutic activities. The Commonwealth of Massachusetts acquired roughly 700 acres (280 ha) of land in northeast Grafton and bordering areas of Shrewsbury to build the new hospital. Agriculture played a significant role in the hospital’s self-sufficiency strategy. Too much agriculture focus ensued and the state came to the conclusion in 1945 that there was little or no occupational therapy in action. Farming, canning, and general maintenance became the institution’s chief vocations as the agricultural focus grew and other treatment modalities deteriorated… READ MORE


Grafton State Hospital Tower


Address: Centech Boulevard
Town: Grafton
Location directions: HERE

The Grafton State Hospital Tower is an abandoned structure located in Grafton, Massachusetts. It is known as a very haunted location considering it stands in the abandoned Grafton insane asylum cemetery which features many un-marked graves. The history of the tower itself is also a mystery. People are not 100% sure who built the tower, when it was built, and why it was built. That said, there are many theories about the tower… READ MORE


Jenny Lind Tower


Address: 29 Old Dewline Road
Town: North Truro
Location directions: HERE

The tower, which resembles a castle’s battlement, was originally part of the Fitchburg Railroad depot in Boston. The depot was purchased by the Boston and Maine Railroad in 1900. Jenny Lind performed in the station’s auditorium in 1850 and the show was sold out which led to many people being turned away. She had to cut her performance short due to a stampede of admirers trying to see her. Lind is said to have scaled the tower of the depot to appear in front of the fans in order to prevent a riot.

The depot where Lind had performed was being demolished in 1927, two years after a devastating fire destroyed part of it. Henry M. Aldrich, a lawyer, worked with the railroad corporation to acquire the tower. He dismantled it and transferred it to a hundred-acre plot of property in North Truro, Massachusetts, which he purchased from Mort Small. The tower took more than two months to complete and required the work of five men. Aldrich also built five cottages on the property but provided no explanation for the tower… READ MORE


Juniper Hall Pergola in Prospect Park


Address: Prospect Street
Town: Shrewsbury
Location directions: HERE

The Juniper Hall Pergola at the Garden of Sweet Remembrance is a hidden abandoned structure located in Prospect Park in Shrewsbury, Massachusetts. This pergola, which is slowly collapsing and being reclaimed by nature, was originally part of the mansion built by Matthew J. Whittall, known as Juniper Hall. 

Whittall was a well-known businessman and Mason. He ordered the construction of Juniper Hall, a mansion that sits atop the highest hill overlooking the Massachusetts town of Shrewsbury, in 1912. The property also featured a wonderful garden which was were open for anyone to wander through and enjoy. Whittall’s widow Gertrude dedicated the pergola in his honor after his passing in 1922. After serving as a retirement residence for Masons, the Juniper Hall mansion eventually fell into disrepair. The Town of Shrewsbury acquired the land after the mansion was demolished in 1979… READ MORE


Lancaster Industrial School for Girls


Address: Old Common Road
Town: Lancaster
Location directions: HERE

The Lancaster Industrial School for Girls is a super interesting abandoned property located along Old Common Road in Lancaster, Massachusetts. On August 26, 1856, it became the first state-run reform school for females in the nation. Separate rooms were provided for each resident in the institution, which was set up as three-story cottages with a kitchen, dining area, and other public amenities on the ground floor, rooms for the girls and a housemother on the second floor, and quarters for teachers on the third floor.

The school was converted into Massachusetts Correctional Institution – Lancaster after it was shut down in 1975. Men were housed in a minimum security prison at the Massachusetts Correctional Institution at Lancaster (MCI-Lancaster). The Massachusetts Department of Correction had control over the facility. Budget constraints caused it to close on July 1, 2002. The 70-acre campus has been mostly abandoned since 2002… READ MORE


Marlborough State Armory

Marlborough State Armory in Marlborough, Massachusetts - GoXplr


Address: 358 Lincoln Street
Town: Marlborough
Location directions: HERE

The Marlborough State Armory was constructed in 1905 at 358 Lincoln Street. For nearly 100 years it was owned and maintained by the National Guard. In 1990, the National Guard stopped using the property and it was essentially abandoned. A developer was interested in acquiring the property to tear down the armory and re-develop it. The town of Marlborough believed this would help the town economically, but the Massachusetts Historical Commission turned down the request. The commission believed that the building’s history was important and it should be preserved. As of writing, the armory is on the market for sale… READ MORE


Naval Air Station South Weymouth


Address: Patriot Parkway
Town: South Weymouth
Location directions: HERE

The abandoned Naval Air Station South Weymouth has become one of the most famous urban exploration spots in Massachusetts. Explorers enjoy tracking down the two control towers which have remained standing over the years while many other structures of the base have been destroyed and re-developed into condo buildings. These control towers once played significant roles at the airfield, but they now sit in decay at the end of an abandoned runway. The base was officially closed in 1997 and parts of it are currently open to the public while other parts are private. The old aircraft runway and control towers are open to the public for exploring… READ MORE


North Truro Air Force Station


Address: 29 Old Dewline Road
Town: North Truro
Location directions: HERE

The North Truro Air Force Station (AFS) was built in 1951 in response to the first atomic bomb being tested by Russia. North Truro AFS was one of the first of twenty-four stations of the permanent Air Defense Command (ADC) radar network. Over the years, the station monitored the radio waves and the ocean waves, searching for intruders and information. Different radars were used throughout the decades, including Texas Tower 2 which was located 110 miles offshore.

After the end of the Cold War, in 1994, the Air Force closed down operations at North Truro. Most of the land was transferred to the National Park Service and the majority of the buildings and radars remain abandoned… READ MORE


Old Farm Trail Cars


Address: Boundary Street
Town: Northborough
Location directions: HERE

The remains of about a half dozen abandoned vintage cars sit in the middle of a forest in Northborough, Massachusetts. There is a 1953 Oldsmobile 88 two-door coupe, a 1941 Buick, a truck, and at least three others. The car remains are located along Old Farm Trail, which is a 1.2-mile out-and-back path that runs along Stirrup Brook. The cars have been a mystery for many years considering they are literally sitting right in the forest among the trees. There are no roads even remotely close to the site of the cars, leading some to think they were dropped from the heavens. But what’s the answer to this Massachusetts Mystery?

The cars were placed in the woods by two stepbrothers, Allan Bezanson and Don Haitsma who are now in their 80s. Allan and Don grew up on Stirrup Brook Farm in Northborough which was a dairy, corn, and hay farm. The brothers grew up working on the farm and as a way of having fun, they built tracks through the woods were they could race old and cheap cars. Despite not even having drivers license when they began, the boys had an awesome time in the woods driving cars. When they were done using a car, they would leave it right in the woods… READ MORE


Rutland State Prison


Address: 299 Intervale Road
Town: Rutland
Location directions: HERE

The abandoned Rutland State Prison in Rutland, Massachusetts was once a bustling center of criminal justice and punishment. The prison was built in 1903 and was used as a correctional facility for decades. Prisoners at Rutland were often minor offenders convicted of things like being a drunkard or petty thief. 

Many of the prisoners were put to work raising livestock and farm fruits and vegetables. The fruits and vegetables were often used to feed the prisoners themselves. Milk produced at the prison was consumed on premises and also sold throughout the region. As time went on a a tuberculosis hospital was constructed on the property to treat sufferers of consumption.

The prison was eventually abandoned in 1934 because of poor drainage. Today, the abandoned prison has been added as part of the Barre Falls Wildlife Management Area and it is open to the public for exploring. The overgrown grounds, crumbling walls, and eerie atmosphere make it a fascinating place to explore. It is a reminder of a bygone era… READ MORE


Strathmore Paper Mill #2


Address: 34 Valley View Avenue
Town: Russell
Location directions: HERE

Strathmore Paper Mill #2 is a abandoned paper mill located in Russell, Massachusetts. The Town of Russell, which was formerly a part of Westfield’s “New Addition,” became a town in 1792. Early settlers lived close to Hazard Pond, now Russell Pond, where they operated small sawmills, tanneries, and grist mills that benefited from the area’s abundant water supply. 

The Strathmore Paper Mill was established in 1913 on the east side of the Westfield River. The paper mill essentially created its own neighborhood for its workers to live and work. Employee homes were built just down the road from the mill along Valley View Avenue. For decades, the mill produced high-quality paper for the Strathmore Company and the community was thriving. In 1994, Strathmore closed down the mill and it was put up for sale… READ MORE


The Pink House

The Pink House Plum Island, Newbury Massachusetts


Address: 60 Plum Island Turnpike
Town: Newbury
Location directions: HERE

The Pink House is a local gem and landmark that attracts locals, visitors, and tourists alike by bringing remarkable beauty, history, and culture to Plum Island. The house was built in 1925 and is located at 60 Plum Island Turnpike in Newbury, Massachusetts. It was then lived in on and off until the early 2000s at which point it was it was abandoned. It was privately owned until 2011, when it was sold for $375,000 to the Parker River National Wildlife Refuge. Many people regard the home to be a local landmark, and it has been the subject of numerous photographs and paintings. In 2015, a grassroots campaign was launched to reclaim the property from the refuge in order to protect it… READ MORE


Conclusion

Exploring abandoned locations in Massachusetts is a truly unique and special experience. The state is steeped in history, and exploring its abandoned locations can often reveal a hidden part of the past. From abandoned factories to old homes to forgotten monuments, there’s something special about wandering through these places and imagining what life must have been like decades ago. Massachusetts is full of secrets, and exploring its abandoned locations is a great way to uncover them.

Related Articles

Responses