Fort Williams Central Powerhouse


The Fort Williams Central Powerhouse is a fascinating abandoned and historic structure in Fort Williams Park in Cape Elizabeth, Maine.

The Quartermaster Corps erected this structure in 1905 to serve as Fort Williams’ main power source. To shield it from the fire of opposing warships, the building was constructed of reinforced concrete and placed in this secluded area. Inside, coal-fired boilers generated steam that powered generators to supply the fort’s electrical requirements. Subsequently, power was obtained from the neighborhood public utility and the powerhouse was kept operational as an emergency power source. The machinery was kept up-to-date and regularly tested to ensure that the plant could promptly supply the fort with electricity. Each of the major gun batteries had its own tiny power plant to provide energy during military action, and a small brick building next to the powerhouse was constructed to hold electrical transformers.

Visitors are welcome to walk around inside the old building today!


  • Year Established: 1905
  • Year Abandoned: 1964
  • Original Function: Central powerhouse to serve Fort Williams

 Fort Williams Central Powerhouse Location

  • Address: 1000 Shore Road
  • Town: Cape Elizabeth
  • State: Maine
  • GPS: 43.624308, -70.214922
  • Parking Notes: There is ample parking available at Fort Williams Park. The closest parking area to the Central Powerhouse is located right behind it, next to the old fire barn.
  • Parking Directions: HERE
  • Location Directions: HERE


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Fort Williams Central Powerhouse”