Grist Mill Covered Bridge in Jeffersonville, Vermont is a majestic wooden bridge that dates back to 1872. It was built by local carpenters for local farmers to use to transport their goods across the Brewster River. The bridge spans 84 feet long and is 14 feet wide and it is a beautiful example of 19th century New England architecture. The bridge is open to pedestrians, and visitors can take a leisurely stroll across the bridge to enjoy the incredible views of the river and surrounding landscape.
The bridge is also known as Scott Covered Bridge, the Bryant Covered Bridge, and the Canyon Covered Bridge. It was officially named the Grist Mill Covered Bridge because of the old grist mill which operated just steps from the bridge. The grist mill is long gone, but the bridge name continues to honor the past. Today, there is a whole park around the bridge which offers ample opportunities for exploring and enjoying the bridge!
On June 13, 1974 this covered bridge received the honor of being listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation’s historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service’s National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America’s historic and archeological resources. The NRHP Reference number for the Grist Mill Covered Bridge is 74000225.
Fun fact! The Grist Mill Covered Bridge is one of just nine Vermont covered bridges supported by timber Burr arch trusses.
Covered Bridge Specs
- Constructed: 1872
- Design/Style: Multiple King with Burr arch
- Total length: 85 feet
- Total width: 14 feet
- Carries: Grist Mill Drive
- Crosses: Brewster River
- Maintained by: Town
- Usage: Vehicles Permitted
- World Guide Number: VT-08-01
- NRHP: 74000225