The Honeymoon Covered Bridge, also known as the Jackson Covered Bridge, is a stunning covered bridge located in Jackson, New Hampshire. The covered bridge was constructed by Charles Austin Broughton and his son frank. Charles was a third-generation bridge-builder which made the bridge significant. It spans 121 feet over the Ellis River and carries Main Street traffic. It is also notable because it is one of about only twenty surviving examples of the paddleford truss covered bridge. Paddleford truss bridges were once the leading types of covered bridges in New England.
Honeymoon Covered Bridge has been rebuilt and tastefully added to over the years. The Goodrich Falls Electric Company was hired by the Borough of Jackson to light the bridge in 1899. According to town records, the sidewalk on the bridge’s side was installed in 1930. Renovations were made in 1965 to improve visibility and offer parking. The bridge was awarded a US$64,000 grant in 2001 to create a fire safety system, which featured alarms, sprinklers, and more. Three years later, in 2004, the bridge repairs were officially completed.
The Honeymoon Covered Bridge is a popular tourist destination nowadays. It is also eligible for National Register of Historic Places inclusion.
Looking for more great spots to explore nearby? Check out the GoXplr New Hampshire Map at goxplr.com/map/new-hampshire!
Covered Bridge Specs
- Constructed: 1876 (rehabilitated 2004)
- Design/Style: Paddleford truss
- Total length: 121 feet
- Total width: 26.5 feet
- Carries: 16-A / Main Street
- Crosses: Ellis River
- Maintained by: New Hampshire Department of Transportation
- Usage: Open to vehicles
- World Guide Number: 29-02-01