The Livermore Falls Mill is a stunning historic and abandoned structure located in Campton, New Hampshire within the Livermore Falls State Forest. The pulp mill was established in 1901 by lumber baron J. E. Henry and it was abandoned in 1953. Today, the remains sit on the west banks of the Pemigewasset River.
Moses Little purchased the falls and adjacent property in 1769, establishing the first Euroamerican settlement in the area. Over the years, the falls’ waterpower attracted a variety of industries, including a tannery, shingle mill, and a number of pulp mills. Although the historical record of milling operations is sparse, it appears that Arthur Homans established the first of the Livermore Falls pulp mills in 1888. During his first year in business, the mill caught fire. The Fibrewood Company erected a second pulp mill the following year, which began operations the following year. The Fibrewood Company, located on the east bank of the river, lasted until the early 1890s when it also burnt down.
In 1901, the most major development occurred on the west bank of the Pemigewasset River. Timber mogul J. E. Henry built a big pulp mill just upstream from the former Fibrewood mill. Henry’s mill quickly became the most significant business in the area. In 1917, Henry sold his mill to the Parker Young Company after clear-cutting much of the area’s timber. The mill went through several owners before closing unexpectedly in 1953. The mill’s dam remained intact until a flood in 1973 demolished it. The remains of the pulp mill sit along the river today.
Years of unregulated deforestation occurred in the Livermore Falls area and this attracted the attention of the State of New Hampshire. The state acquired the mill remains and 178 acres of land to create the Livermore Falls State Forest. There is an official parking area for the park which charges $5 per car in the summer to park. The mill can then be accessed, but be cautious. There is very little protection near the mill which is constantly being taken back by nature.
Looking for more great spots to explore in New Hampshire? Check out goxplr.com/map/new-hampshire
- Year Established: 1889
- Year Abandoned: 1954
- Original Function: Pulp mill built by the Fibrewood Company
- Address: Livermore Rd
- Town: Campton
- State: New Hampshire
- GPS: Lat 43.78476 Lng -71.66721
- Parking notes: There are dozens of spots to park at the Livermore Falls State Forest parking lot.
- Parking directions: HERE
- Location directions: HERE
Yas Miro –
Checking out the old Livermore Falls Mill in NH!
Evan Mills –
Livermore Falls Mill in New Hampshire! Cool abandoned spot!