About This Location
The Fort Baldwin Fire Control Tower is an intriguing historic and abandoned structure located in Phippsburg, Maine.
Fort Baldwin was built atop Sabino Hill between the Spanish-American War and World War 2 as a response to sea-borne threats to the security of the crucial Kennebec River with Bath Iron Works nearby and the capital of Augusta up North. Two artillery companies with a combined strength of around 100 were stationed at the fort during the Great War. Three gun batteries were constructed at the fort and these include Battery Cogan, Battery Hawley, and Battery Hardman. The fort was surrendered to the State of Maine in 1924 when it was deemed unnecessary.
After many years of being abandoned, the fort once again was active during World War II. Immediately after the war began, the government sought to secure the coast of Maine and the important Kennebec River. Men were quickly stationed at Fort Baldwin and nearby Fort Popham. In 1942, the fire control tower was constructed on the top of Sabino Hill on the grounds of Fort Baldwin. The tower is a square concrete tower that stands five stories tall. From the top of the tower, lookouts could see for miles in all directions and detect any enemy threats quickly. Additionally, during World War 2, mobile guns were placed on the hill in case of any invasion. Following the war ending in 1945, the fire control tower was abandoned and the mobile guns were removed. The land was once again transferred back to the state of Maine.
The Fort Baldwin Fire Control Tower was added to the National Register of Historic Places on August 3, 1979, as part of the Fort Baldwin Historic Site. The reference number for this is 79000166. Today, the Maine State Bureau of Parks and Recreation looks over the tower and maintains it. The tower is in great shape and is a fascinating structure to explore.